Skip to content

Blogger’s Conference in Merida

14/09/2011
  • Have questions about blogging?
  • Want to share your blogging experiences?
  • Want see what the people behind the blog really look like?

Join us for the 4th annual Latin American Blogger’s Conference.  It is being held in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico on November 5th , 2011.

Everything you need to know, and a recap of the last conference, is at Conference Blog.

If you would like to register or ask a private question,  just e-mail us at Conference Information.

I really hope to see you there.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/11/2011 13:57

    Hi, Barry–I sure enjoyed your presentation this morning. Though I’m a long way from being a “techy” as you are, I did struggle through creating a web site in HTML (without understanding much of what I was doing.) So, when I returned from the conference today, I looked at my Blogo (which I suspect is a program similar to LiveWriter) and found a menu item for “edit the HTML)! I’m so pleased, so thanks so much.

    Very good presentation.

  2. 21/05/2012 06:30

    Barry,
    My wife and I are buying a house in Merida, after barggaining for awhile we found one partially furnished on Calle 56, http://www.mexintl.com/property/003716, We were wondering if you have any stores like Target, etc. We also need a sofa and a few chairs for the pool, etc. We will probably close on the house in July and spend 6 months a year there from October to April. We were just on vacation for 2 weeks and loved Merida. We bought the house through tierra yucatan. We will have a property manager, Silvia Sanchez, who was the property manager where we stayed, who said she would help with buying things for the house so that it is minimally set up before we get there. We did go to Wal Mart several times
    If you have any advise on the best way to furnish things we would appreciate it. I know there is a restaurant supply store near us Thank you for any advise. We just sold our restaurant in Newport, RI
    Tucker Harris

    • 21/05/2012 12:50

      We are also on Calle 56 near Calle 49. Great location! You can walk to the Zocalo (main square) in minutes. We have Costco, Sams and Home Depot for outdoor furniture. There is also a local that makes wonderful wrought iron furniture (Lefty’s). We have “found” a tienda (store) for almost everything, so if you have any questions just ask. After you have been here for a while you will find that you can buy the same things cheaper from locals versus the big box stores. But, we all use the big boxes on occasion and they are the easiest to use to start.

      Barry

      • 21/05/2012 16:16

        Barry,
        Thanks for the quick reply, we were there for 2 weeks, just getting back a week ago today and loved it. We stayed at Casa del Panadero on Calle 49. I appreciate your suggestions, thanks so much for taking the time to write. I am having some wrought iron furniture made right now for our outside, by coincidence the welder’s brother in law is from Merida.
        I am trying to find just some not too expensive things before we get there just to get by for awhile. The house has a pool and I wanted to get some chaise lounges and probably another sofa for the living room. I did go on costco, which I have never been to here in the US, and the sofa looked okay, but the chaise lounges were expensive.
        Thank you so much, I will continue looking on line and hope to see you when we move there.
        Tucker

Leave a Reply

