Skip to content

Frames, Glasses and Repair

31/07/2011
by

IMG_1957About a year ago I lost my reading glasses, so I went to a nice looking shop on calle 56 just north of call 59 called Buena Vista.  The people were quite pleasant.  They checked my eyes and determined the prescription that I needed.  I also picked frames; if you can call them that.  They are actually two bows and a bridge.  They were a little on the expensive side, but I like the fact that there was no material around the glass itself.

 

Things went very well for about six months until one of the bows broke.  So I went back to Buena Vista.  They told me that they don’t carry spare parts for my frames.  In fact the frames that I purchased were now discontinued.  After much discussion, I was politely informed that I was out of luck; they couldn’t repair them, they wouldn’t replace them and if I wanted to use my glasses I need to purchase new frames for somewhere between $100 and $200 USD.  Buena Vista does not stand behind their products!  I, also being very polite, said that I would go somewhere else.

 

Enter Jaime Góngora Robles at International Optica.  I went to his shop which is also in calle 56, but just south of calle 59 across the street from the cell phone / iPod / electronic gadget mall.  I explained my problem (BTW Jaime speaks excellent English).  He didn’t carry my brand of frames but, if I left my glasses, he would see what he could do.

 

I went back that evening and there were my glasses with new metal bows.  I now think I know why the frames were discontinued; the bows and bridge were plastic and didn’t hold up in the heat of Mérida.  The glasses looked fantastic.  So I held my breath and asked "cuánto cuesta.  He smiled and said, "doscientos pesos ($15 USD)."  I was shocked because Buena Vista wanted more than $100 USD for replacement frames.  Needless to say, I was very pleased with the workmanship, honesty and price of my glasses repair.

 

Another six months later the bridge of my reading glasses also failed.  Apparently the manufacturer used the same plastic on the bridge as the bows.  So back to Jaime I went.  He said leave them over night and he would see what he could do.  I returned the next morning and, as I have now come to expect, there were my glasses with a new metal bridge piece, ready to go.  How much?  Cinetos viente ($9 USD) pesos.  So for about $24 USD I have replaced the faulty plastic frames in their entirety; whereas new frames from Buena Vista would have been between $100 and $200 USD.

 

I highly recommend Jaime and International Optica for all of your lenses and frame needs.  There is an eye doctor associated with International Optica, but I can’t make any comments about him – I’ve never used him.

 

International Optica is at calle 56 #494-A, x 59 y 61, Centro.  Their phone number is (999) 928-62-95.  Jaime’s e-mail is jaime0075@hotmail.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Toni permalink
    31/07/2011 18:16

    Hi Barry,
    I just discovered your blog… I have a dream to retire to Mexico. What made you and Nancy decide on Merida?

    Look forward to your story!

  2. 31/07/2011 19:39

    I am so glad you posted this. One of the little soft plastic nose pads fell off my glasses and I spent about 2 hours looking for a place to repair them. I even walked up to the Hyatt because I thought I remembered seeing a place there. I never found an optica and anyone I asked didn’t seem to know. The glasses have actually been OK with the missing pad. I was surprised that the metal piece is not uncomfortable. I will now know where to go for new glasses and repairs. Gracias.

  3. 05/10/2011 14:28

    I ditto your recommendation of Jaime’s business! I’ve known him for many years, and would not use anyone else if he could do the work.

Leave a Reply

